Enjoying Things

Mar. 22nd, 2026 03:00 am
kalloway: (GS MSV Strike Rouge)
[personal profile] kalloway
Well, it's been a week. ^^;;

I've been playing Final Fantasy VII for the first time in ages and really enjoying it. I'm playing the Switch version, with most of the 'cheats' enabled, which has basically made it into Story Mode, which is fine. I know eventually I'm going to get to endgame chocobo stuff and no cheats will save my arse... (also chocobo breeding/racing my beloved - Sephi can wait lol)

((seriously, if S-E could just make a chocobo breeding mobile game...))

Went down for the local-enough 30 Minutes Label Day/Contest yesterday and there was a really good turn-out. (Seven contest entries!) Winners were store-level only, compared to like, the worldwide gunpla contest, and the judging seemed to favor creativity over craftsmanship. (Which makes sense for 30ML, tbh.)

The store itself has rearranged with a big section for gunpla/bandai kits at the front, unlike the little corner the last couple times we were there. While we were there, an old guy was wandering around complaining loudly about how few 'real' model kits there were and how terrible color-separated snapfit stuff is. I was very tempted to confront him but his absolutely mortified wife was already trying to get him out of there.

Let~ People~ Enjoy~ Things~

That said, color-separated snapfit stuff is great and lowers the barrier for entry and can lead to a person attempting different types of models requiring different skills! Or they may be happy sticking with color-separated snapfit stuff and that's also great! (And either way, hobby shops stay in business! Double-great!)

Need to finish up my Redacted entry next.

March Was Deadlines! )

When not working on my Redacted project, I'm trying to get my desk cleared off and get things ready for the next Hobby Market, which is the 4th. Also need to get this month's mail sent out, which is 90% ready. And some very minor car repairs (and maybe schedule some more major)... Got my eye exam scheduled too because my right eye seems impressively fuzzy again. Blrgh.
sarasa_cat: Corpo V (Default)
[personal profile] sarasa_cat
Rather than repost it all here, follow the link to my tumblr: https://sarasa-cat.tumblr.com/post/811560165423923200/pure-speculation-but

Feel free to discuss, add info, or speculate over here, down below.
larissa: (BSSM ☄ ⌈Usagi ; moonlight rendezvous⌋)
[personal profile] larissa

checking in, even though i haven't been very productive again...

  • websites: still nada. was hoping to get stuff done yesterday but then i got distracted by other things, woe. maybe sometime this week? i have less going on.
  • writing: has been middling. i mean i'm still writing my daily nonsense about my ocs, but not much in the way of new project stuff like i managed at the start of the month.
  • gaming: i think i'm 18-20 hours into trails from zero? i'm near the end of the second chapter. since i picked up a new raid commitment in ff14 i've had less time during the week to play, so i've been aiming for weekends. hopefully i can make more progress in the coming week.
    • i did also get pokémon leafgreen for switch out of nostalgia. i keep forgetting when the rival battles are and have been woefully underprepared each time. this is just going to be a now-and-then game; it's nice to pick up when i have no brain for anything else.

that's all the updates for now... i really hate this time of year, i feel so blah.

A Reckoning of Swords 74

Mar. 15th, 2026 05:10 am
kalloway: (Xmas Lights 18 C7 Tangle)
[personal profile] kalloway
Many swords, again... worked on archiving and got a decent bit done. Close to a half-dozen new fandom pages? Felt pretty good. ^_^ I've refined my workflow and while I don't know if it's actually going any faster, it feels faster. Before, I would code up five or so pieces, put them on Neocities, and then put them on DW. Now I'm just doing one at a time, putting it on Neocities then immediately putting it on DW and logging it. Makes it a little easier to pause, if nothing else.

I do wish I'd put a little more forethought into how I'm logging what I've done, but I don't think there's any perfect solution there. After a point it'll be much easier, like when I'm just cruising through AO3 by fandom when there's only a few dense fandoms left. Right now I'm all over the place and logging things into composition books is getting kind of gnarly.

Worked a bit more on MG Tallgeese Flugel, but mostly worked on stuff for 30 Minute Label Day. Definitely not a prize-winning display, but a fun one. And that's honestly what I want - a fun display and one people can interact with. Like, I'll offer to let people touch, gently, and check out articulation and details and whatever. There's not much that can be broken beyond repair, if anything. Need to get back to my [Redacted] contest entry, too, as that's coming due very soon.

Goal for the week is getting my desk cleaned up. What even is going on here?!

here and there

Mar. 13th, 2026 09:58 am
taichara: (Kythi - stance)
[personal profile] taichara
Not dead. (feel kind of dead.) Mostly watching the world burn.

Did manage to crawl past my birthday without bonfire or getting arrested despite Familial Bullshit, though, so that's a bonus?

After having spent way too many years scratching my claws against the glass that is Final Fantasy and what Squenix has been doing to and with it, I've stopped yelling and started a replay of FFVII along with [personal profile] kalloway -- this is probably the only smart thing I've done since the new year, fannishly, and I hope/plan to see it through. There's other games/hacks I really should get (back) to also. It's time to embrace digging a comfortable hole and climbing in and damn the rest of the world, yo.

Yoroi Shinden Samurai Troopers continues to be a goddamned joy, and I wish I could say I'm surprised to discover that the YST fandom in Japan is just as goddamn pathetically losing as the Western branch but nope, here we are.

Aside from that I've successfully pruned my icons here to 150 so I can drop to standard paid painlessly; I'm done paying for essentially nothing ("premium"), but I'm unhooking slowly. I still need to get the energy to make my own site, but tinkering around on omg.lol has been going well so far; I also got me some paid virtual hosting and spun up that tiny IRC server, but I think I might wipe the host and re-do as a Discourse server because forum+chat feels like it might be more useful in the future.

There's probably something else but I can't think of it right now.
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 11:44 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios